In this week…

Hello Readers!  Wow!  Another week, and another month, gone already!  Where is the time going?  It has truly been busy in my little world this week!  Of course, last weekend my husband Ryan and I attended a painting class with bottomless mimosas to celebrate our anniversary.  My in-laws also watched our son Sean for us Friday night in order to give us a night off, which was great since we needed it!

On top of that, I’ve been busy with my 21 Day Fix Extreme Round 1.  Oh my goodness!  It’s been challenging yet rewarding for me!  My final weigh in will be on Monday, but I don’t think I will find a significant weight loss right now.  And I’m not banking on it.  However, I’m still proud of my success.  This isn’t my first time doing the 21 Day Fix challenge.  This is my third attempt.  However, this is the first time I’ve felt good about it.

My first two times came when I was looking for a “get skinny quick” gimmick.  I hate to say it, but I am embarrassed by my weight.  I see my wedding and engagement photos all the time, where I was skinny, and I feel bad about gaining weight.  I felt even worse about not losing any (but gaining, instead) after I had my son that I was depressed.  And then, at the end of last year I started thinking about my goals for 2016 and how I didn’t complete them at all.  I thought about how I wanted to lose weight, and about that time I had another 21 Day Fix post pop up on my Pinterest feed.  And my interest in it peaked again.  So, I started thinking about what went wrong in the past, and here’s what I learned:

  1. Don’t plan for others.  Only plan for yourself.
    So, in each previous attempt, I would get bogged down trying to adapt my meals to fit Ryan’s likes and dislikes.  This was a disaster for me because Ryan hates chicken, and it’s one of the only real meats to eat.  Instead, I was eating pork and not doing very well.  This time, I put my foot down and told Ryan he was on his own.  I let him see my meal plan and pick what meals he wanted to eat from it.  I accounted for that, but as for the rest he was on his own.  And it worked out just fine.
  2. Stick to Basics.
    I wanted to try all of the recipes before, and I wanted to make this plan more intriguing so I wouldn’t feel bored with my meals that I got frustrated with all of my cooking.  I also didn’t care for some of the meals.  So, I went back to the basics: chicken, eggs, oatmeal, salads, etc.  There were no overnight oatmeal attempts.  There were no smoothies or shakes to “squeeze” in another veggie source.  I stuck to what I knew I liked and what I would eat.  And it worked.  I loved my meals.  I loved my snacks.  And, while a couple things had to be tweaked to fit into the diet (like a new creamer source via coconut milk for my morning coffee), I didn’t get bored with it.
  3. Simplify.
    This ties into the previous post.  Every time I’ve attempted to make a meal plan for the 21 Day Fix, I have tried to make it as non-boring as possible.  This time, I stuck to one breakfast the entire time (oatmeal with 1/2 banana, peanut butter, and a hard boiled egg), I’ve kept to the same basic lunch every day (typically a good salad with a protein of some kind), and I’ve kept to simple dinners.  I also kept the same meal plan all three weeks.  My lunches, snacks, and dinners were varied enough to keep it from getting too boring, and it simplified my grocery list since I already had it down and didn’t need to write a new one each week.
  4. Forgive yourself.
    Mistakes happen.  Bad days occur.  You will slip up, especially in the beginning.  I had a couple of cheats, mostly due to events like the painting class and a wardrobe meeting I attended.  I reminded myself to maintain control over what I consumed, but I also forgave myself for the cheat.  And trusting myself to maintain control in the face of temptation had a huge impact on my feelings about it.
  5. Remind yourself.
    When the workouts got tough and I was in pain, I reminded myself of why I was doing this.  When I weighed myself and saw that my weight hadn’t changed, I reminded myself that my weight hadn’t been gained overnight and would take time coming off.  When I woke up and didn’t see any change, I reminded myself to feel the change.  My muscles are sore because they’re getting worked again.  I’m sweaty after my workouts because I’m making a change.  I’m having to go to the restroom more frequently because I’ve increased my water intake to flush toxins from my system.  I remind myself that it may take a few rounds to see any weight loss, but at least I’ll feel better as I get there.
  6. Listen to Autumn.
    As annoying as she can be in those videos, what she says really does help.  Giving it all you’ve got, even if it’s only 40 seconds, is better than nothing.  Keep pushing or you won’t make any progress.  It all works if you try and you believe.
  7. Stick to what you like.
    Confession: I don’t do Shakeology.  It’s why I won’t be a coach.  I hate Shakeology.  I’m not even a fan of protein powders.  Before, I tried to do a protein powder with no luck.  I tried to do a green smoothie and I failed.  I hated them!  I felt like I was choking them down, and after a few days I started rummaging in the pantry for something else for snack time.  This time, I skipped the smoothies and powders.  I stuck to protein sources I like for snack time: cottage cheese, eggs, tuna, chicken, and turkey.  And as for veggies, I started doing a salad with 2 or more veggies for lunch.  I found that I love cottage cheese with cherry tomatoes for a snack!  I love Greek Yogurt Chicken salads with 2 cups of veggies, chicken and yogurt, some pumpkin seeds, and some avocado for lunch.  I love tuna and hot sauce!  Eggs, of course, are so filling!  And having meals I liked made it so much easier to stick to the plan.
  8. Try different water options.
    This is one that I learned during the previous rounds, but I learned more this round.  I toyed with different water bar recipes, and I found that I love basil in water!  It has such a crisp flavor!  I loved it with cucumber, too!  I also love plain sparkling water with a little lemon and lime added.  While I took advantage of my option to have a glass of milk in lieu of a yellow container 3 times a week, I did allow myself a small “treat” on my other 4 days of the week.  At dinner, if I had finished my water requirement, I got to have a bottle of sparkling water.  Adding lemon and lime, along with a glass and ice, I felt like I was cheating!  It was like having a soda on my diet.  Not everyone can do the sparkling water, but for me it was a great way to relax after a day of nothing but water and altered coffee.  In fact, I only had one cup of coffee a day before I started on my water requirements, so the sparkling water gave me a break from flat water.  And I had to have flavor in my water.  Be it citrus, or cucumbers, or basil, or ginger.  My water needed flavor so I didn’t feel water-logged.

All of this has helped me maintain my positivity and my progress through this round, and I’m excited to keep up the workouts after this week.  I’m also eager to start the next round in a couple of weeks.  If nothing else, the workouts will help get me to my goal weight of 135, and that’s what I’m working toward.  I didn’t get to where I am overnight, and I’m not going to get to where I want to be overnight.  But working on it every day and working out every day will help me get there a little more each day.

Now, I must say that I do have my goal of hitting 135 pounds.  This is my overall weight loss goal.  And while it may not happen in this year, I’m going to try for it.  To help me out, I have a reward at the end of a painting class of my choice, which my husband Ryan has agreed to.  I just love these classes!  And I’ve never been one for painting before.  But, to help me along, I have mini goals for myself.  For instance, when I get down by twenty pounds, I get to get a pedicure.  After twenty more pounds, I can get a manicure.  I chose these rewards because I know they will help me work harder.  If I know I only have to lose 20 pounds for the first reward, I’ll get there.  Especially for a pedicure!  I may change my mind and do a massage instead of a manicure, but I’m not sure yet.  For now, I’m keeping it as is.  It’s important for me to set realistic goals with rewards in place like this.  And for me, these luxuries are a real treat!  On our income, especially right now as Ryan gets into a new career after a low-paying one, I don’t get a pedicure every week, and I’ve only gotten one manicure since we got married two years ago.  So, these little mini rewards are a big deal to me.  And, best of all, they aren’t food-related, except for the painting class.

See, one of the painting studios in our area does a theme for every class.  Wednesday is Wine Night where bottles of wine are half off.  Fridays are $5 glass nights.  Saturday mornings are Bottomless Mimosas, Saturday nights are Sangria nights.  Sunday afternoons are Bloody (Mary) Sundays.  It’s fun to try a new painting and enjoy the theme, even if it is alcohol related.  But it’s the fun I didn’t have in college, and I love doing them.

And so, that’s been my focus this week.  Enjoy your weekend and enjoy your Superbowl parties!

Until next week,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

