Tackle It! February’s Project

Hello Readers!  Whew!  What a month January turned out to be!  I had some great plans and projects, and I’m happy with my progress.  So, let’s do a quick recap.  My first project was my daily and weekly cleaning.  I’m happy to report that this project was a success!  Mind you, with my husband Ryan starting his new career this month, my schedule was thrown out the window and a new one took over.  But, it was the same one I had just on different days.  We have taken to it like a duck to water!

The second one was the spirituality one.  Needless to say, this was a dud.  I barely find time to write posts anymore, let alone to do daily bible study!  Sadly, this is one that I have felt a need for in my life, and it’s the one that often doesn’t make the cut into my days.  I can say that we did start attending a new church, which may help me in my spiritual journey.  I have been searching for a new church and new congregation for a long time, mainly because my childhood religion is now filled with some awful memories that have affected my beliefs.  Still, we are enjoying our new church services, and I’m glad that Ryan’s new career means weekends off so we can attend church together.

My third project, decluttering my kitchen, was slightly successful.  I changed my focus from my kitchen to the dining room/office area first.  For me, it’s important to have a clean work space, and our office space was split into two sections.  I needed to condense it down and organize it in a way that seemed much more cohesive and clean.  Our bookcase was overflowing with books, many of which I knew we would never read, and we managed to weed out about one third of our books.  We donated them to our local library, and we are so excited to have a clean bookcase once again!

My final project, my capsule wardrobe, is still underway and is still successful.  I feel so confident in my clothes!  I get dressed every day, even if I’m only sitting around the house doing my housework.  It motivates me to be productive every day, and I’m really finding my way through it.

Now, I got a wild hair on my head shortly after the month began about trying the 21 Day Fix Extreme once again, and I started mid month on a new round of the program.  I won’t go into too much detail as I want to talk about it tomorrow, but I will say that it was more successful this time.

And that leads me to my focus for the month of February.  My first project is to continue on the 21 Day Fix Extreme workouts.  I will finish with the portion control part of the program on Sunday, and afterward I will stay with the workouts.  I plan on only taking two weeks off of the portion control before jumping back onto another round of the 21 Day Fix Extreme on the 20th of the month.  My biggest issue with losing weight is the exercising part.  I already eat fairly healthy, even with a sweet tooth, but I suck at working out.  I don’t like to “feel the burn”, and I hate waking up in pain.  I already have some light chronic pain, especially with feet due to my high arches and my lower back due to a twisted pelvic joint.  So the last thing I want is more pain due to exercise.  But, I’m planning on sticking with it all of February.  To be honest, I think it might be successful; I’ve had fun with it so far, and I’ve surprised even myself this round.

My next project is the Master Closet.  I’m continuing my declutter project with this room for February and the first week of March.  I have a ton of clutter in my closet, and my shelves are full of my crafting goods.  My goal is to turn my closet shelves into my “dresser” storage with cute baskets and cubes so that I can clean out my dresser and get it out.  My dresser is part of a set that belongs in a little girl’s room, and it’s high time that I find a little girl to love it.  I may eventually buy another dresser.  But right now, my dresser is nothing more than a nuisance, and our son Sean loves to annoy me by opening the drawers and pulling my clothes out.  So, my ultimate goal is to move my clothes into the closet (where he hates to be) and have more space in our bedroom without a second dresser.

My third project is my reading list.  I had tried to start on a book about the history of Rome in January with no success.  I just couldn’t get into it right now!  So, I have tabled that book for now as I’m trying to find energy to read.  I have a new book on my list to read: The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.  I have heard great reviews of this book, and I thought I would read it myself.  I’m also working on rereading The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman with my husband Ryan.  So, these are my reading goals for the month.

Aside from that, I’m continuing my work on my capsule wardrobe.  I have a couple of pieces I want to get during the Winter apparel clearance sales, so I’ll be working on that.  I’m also going to begin fine-tuning my needs for my other gear: intimates, workout gear, socks & hosiery, bags, accessories, etc.  I know that while my wardrobe is almost set, my other gear is in desperate need of pruning and redoing.  I want to get an idea of what I need overall before my March projects come up since my Master Bedroom (and dresser) will be due then.

My final project of the month is to utilize my bullet journal.  I started the bullet journal in January as a test to see if it was useful.  And so far, I’ve liked the freedom of having everything in it.  However, I am having difficulties with my to-do list.  I can never find time to write it all down!  I always feel like I’m rushing to get to my bullet journal, but a lot of it is just trying to incorporate it into my already busy day.  It is getting a little easier, especially since I’m learning my way around it and around what I need to write down each day (I certainly don’t need to remind myself to do my daily cleaning every day!) and what can be left for my tracker.  It’s definitely a work in progress.

And that’s it for my February projects and goals:

  1. Continue the 21 Day Fix Extreme Workouts and start Round 2 on February 20th
  2. Declutter my Master Closet
  3. Read The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared and The 5 Love Languages
  4. Continue my Capsule Wardrobe project and work on other wear
  5. Work on Bullet Journal more

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

