In this Week…

Hello Readers!  Wow! It has been a crazy week around here! I can’t believe how fast this week has gone!  So, let me tell you all about it.

First things first, my husband Ryan started his new job on Monday of this week, and our entire schedule was thrown off as a result.  Mind you, we have had the same routine and same schedule since before our son Sean was born.  When he was born, we adjusted slightly to fit his needs.  But for the most part, we kept with our old routine.  This week, however, it all changed.  Most importantly, our old times changed.  Before, we were late starters because Ryan typically didn’t go to work until 8:30 or 9:00 each morning.  So, Sean would wake us up around 6:30 or so by calling to us from his bedroom so we would get him and he could spend a little time snuggling with Dad.  But, when Ryan would leave for work Sean would cry for about ten minutes or so because he wouldn’t see Dad until the next morning since Ryan wouldn’t get home most nights until 8:30 or 9:00 at night.

That changed this week.  Now, Ryan is out the door by 6:00, which means that Sean is thrown off and searching for Dad first thing in the morning.  And then Ryan is home around 5:30, which means Sean gets to spend the evenings with him before bedtime at 7:30.  To add to that, Ryan’s schedule has changed to a typical Monday through Friday rather than a weekend working one.  This is a Godsend for us in a 24/7 state and city since it means that we can do family activities and attend more family events as a family rather than just myself and Sean alone.  We also get to have dinner together every night as a family rather than me feeding Sean at 6 or 7 and then either eating with Sean or eating with Ryan when he gets off work.  It’s a much better routine since Ryan doesn’t do breakfast most mornings like Sean and I do and having him here for breakfast isn’t as necessary.

Another change in our family occurred the week before when Ryan was transitioning from his old job to this one and had the week off.  We switched Sean from his crib to the toddler transitional, meaning that he is now in a toddler bed.  A lot of acquaintances have criticized me for this, but I could tell he was ready for it.  He often calls for us when he wakes up early in the morning, and he has begun climbing on everything.  Rather than having him climb out of his crib and get hurt, I decided to change his bed and allow him the option to come to us in the morning.  So far, we have only experienced two tumbles out of bed.  On the first night, he stood up and reached for the railing in the dark and tumbled out, so we remedied that with a soft lamp on in his room so he can see.  The second time, he had fallen asleep on our way home from my sister’s house an hour away, and he was unaware of his surroundings when he toppled out of bed.  Both times he was completely fine.

What’s been great about this is that he has slept better and often wakes up around 6:30 in the morning to play with his toys rather than calling out for us to get him.  We also have discovered that he is afraid of the dark, which means he won’t come to our room yet.  I know it’s only a matter of time before he does, but for now it’s not an issue.  Still, I have had people express doubt about my belief that Sean was ready because he is almost eighteen months old.  But I felt like he was ready based on my experiences with it.  And as for naptimes, he has gone down for them, as well as for bed, without fail.  He may get out of bed during his afternoon naps from time to time, but he plays quietly in his room instead of screeching or banging on the door.  It has been a miracle and I feel truly blessed to have a well-mannered child.

In my own personal side of things, I have started a few new projects and have continued with more.  I am still working on my household declutter project.  We actually were able to get the dining room/office area finished last week while Ryan was off and this week while he was leaving work earlier than before.  We have condensed our books down by a few, reorganized them, and we have the desktop computer configuration and setup left before we move onto our master closet.

On top of this current project, I have continued to work on my capsule wardrobe, which is getting a lot closer to completion.  If you haven’t heard about this, a capsule wardrobe is a small collection of clothing that can be mixed and matched to form all outfits.  The key is minimalism and to find a more versatile wardrobe.  I have been working on it for quite some time, and I have been focusing on getting a year-round wardrobe of fifty articles of clothing.  This fifty includes all tops, bottoms, dresses, layers, and shoes.  Not included in that total are intimates, loungewear/sleepwear, active wear, accessories, and purses/bags.  However, I am attempting to also limit these categories, too.  After all, who needs a dozen pair of pajama pants when you only wear four of them year-round?  That’s why I want to pare all of these items down too.

But, my primary reason for reverting to a capsule wardrobe is that I found that I was running out of motivation to get dressed in the mornings.  I am home all day, after all, and I wasn’t happy with my wardrobe at that point.  A lot of it emphasized my weight gain and I felt weird in clothes.  I also felt like I never had anything to wear and constantly wore the same two tops and two pairs of jeans all the time.  When I saw the capsule wardrobe, I was immediately hooked.  At first, I had planned to toss everything and buy a brand new wardrobe.  And then the voice of reason screamed in my ear that I needed to look at my closet first.

Needless to say, I listened to that voice.  And while I rediscovered a lot of items in my closet, I learned one important fact: I owned a lot of black!  I don’t even like black that much.  But, almost every single shirt I owned (save for a couple of summery tops) was black.  I did break a rule or two in the beginning by purchasing three new tops the first month, but I needed something other than black to wear with my brown lace skirt (my fave!) and my brown paisley skirt (meh).  Since then, I have continued to weed down my wardrobe, and I’m happy to say that I’m down to roughly a dozen purchased until my entire wardrobe is complete for the year.  These are things like a 3-in-1 winter coat system, but I’m very particular about this item as most of the time the inner layer is fleece and I want a down puffer parka rather than a fleece coat.  I also want to replace the aforementioned brown paisley skirt with a denim one, get a new denim jacket, and couple pairs of shoes.  A few things need to be replaced, but for right now my wardrobe is functional and loved.  And best of all, I get dressed every morning.  And I am excited to do so!

Now, I have started a couple of new projects, too.  I started a new round of the 21 Day Fix Extreme on Monday, and I am working my way through it.  I can’t believe how weak I’ve gotten over the past few months!  I really need to get back in shape!  I’ll have more information about this in a couple of weeks when I finish, but for now I’m staying strong and avoiding the temptation!  I also started working on a bullet journal (finally!) and I’m slowly working my way through it.  Again, I’ll have more information on this (hopefully) next week.  For now, it’s a work in progress.

And so far, that’s been my week.  Whew!  Now I’m off to finish the week off strong and enjoy a weekend with my family!

Until next week,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

