Tackle It! January’s Projects

Hello Readers!  Well, it’s a new month with a new project or two for our household.  Even this month is no exception, regardless of the weather and the season.  For this month, I have a few special projects to work on.  And I highly suggest picking some similar for yourself.

My first project, as I have mentioned all week, is to return to my old routine.  This really requires me to look at my posted schedules and revert to what I used to do.  For example, my daily cleaning list requires the following:

  • Unload/Load Dishwasher
  • Empty Trash
  • Wipe Surfaces
  • Make Beds
  • 10 Minute Tidy
  • Weekly Task
  • Daily Laundry Load

And that’s it.  My weekly schedule looks like this:

  • Monday: Seasonal tasks, Colors in Laundry, Soup/Salad/Sandwich meal
  • Tuesday: Seasonal tasks, Linens/Bedding, Takeout night
  • Wednesday: Dusting, Baby clothes, Slow Cooker meal
  • Thursday: Vacuum, Jeans, Homestyle meal
  • Friday: Monthly tasks, Colors in laundry, Seafood meal
  • Saturday: Baths, Baby clothes, Breakfast for Dinner
  • Sunday: Hard floors & Groceries, Whites, Easy Peasy meal

This sounds crazy, but our cleaning routine is fairly easy.  And, yes, I only wash baby clothes twice a week.  While I may have one load of laundry per day, I only have one (maybe two, such as Tuesdays) load a day.  Also, I started following some simple rules of the Capsule Wardrobe this past Fall.  And one that I stick to is line drying my clothes.  While I use the dryer for the rest of the clothes, my personal clothes are dried via old fashioned methods.  Anyway, my first project is to revert to my old schedule.

This brings me to the next project on my list for the month: continue work on my Capsule Wardrobe.  If you haven’t heard, a Capsule Wardrobe is one that consists of a small selection of quality pieces the owner loves that can be mixed and matched to create a versatile wardrobe.  I love this project, and I have been having a lot of fun with it.  I plan to discuss this in more detail in the coming weeks.  Needless to say I’ve already gotten my wardrobe down to about 45 pieces that are wonderful.  I have a list of items to replace during the year and items I wish to add to my wardrobe.  But this has been a highlight and successful project for myself.

I won’t go into too much detail about it, but I will give you a little background into this project.  I stumbled across a pin about the Capsule Project on my Pinterest feed in September, and I instantly became addicted to it.  Part of the reason why I fell in love with this instantly was based on my own predicament.  I was stuck in a rut with my wardrobe.  Nothing fit right.  I felt dumpy and drab, and I often spent my days in my pajamas because I didn’t love my clothes.  After doing research and spending time on figuring out the best method for me, I finally began on this project.  I weeded through my clothes and found a decent wardrobe to start with.  I was pretty excited with what I had, but I realized that nearly every top I owned was black.

I broke a rule here by purchasing a couple of essential tops for my wardrobe, but I don’t regret it.  I have, since then, weeded through my wishes for my wardrobe.  And I have set myself on a long term plan for my wardrobe.  But, I will say this: since starting this project, I have woken up every day eager to get dressed in my clothes.  I love my wardrobe.  I feel comfortable and confident in them.  And that’s a continuing project this month as I decide what items to replace or purchase for my wardrobe.

My third project for this month is my reading and writing goals.  I am starting a Bible Study journal that my mother purchased for me that requires me to read from the Holy Bible every day, so I have started this and plan to make this a daily habit.  I also have a goal of reading every night before bed.  I’m starting with a book on Greek history that I’ve borrowed from my father in law, but I have a few new books on my bedside table to read, especially after the holidays.  But this is my first task in a longer project of better time management.

Each month, I have a goal that changes one portion of my routine to better improve my time management and my schedule.  The first step is to read and complete my Bible journal every night before bed.  This is my “me” time, and I need to revert to it once again.  So, this is the first step to take in order to take back my routine from the old cycle of binging on Netflix and coffee.

Finally, I have some household cleaning tasks for the month.  I have my seasonal cleaning tasks that I have every season.  But I also have the task to declutter my kitchen and clean out the pantry.  While I love my mom to bits, she has a terrible habit of always giving me junk that I may someday use but just don’t have room for right now.  Sadly, a lot of these items are not useful for me and do nothing but take up precious space in my small kitchen.  To add to that, our son Sean has spent months pulling my plastic tupperware containers from their cabinet and dragging them through our home.  I have been unsuccessful in preventing this, and I often spend my days picking up these loose pieces everywhere.  But now, I’m desperate for matching sets of lids and containers, missing several pieces, and constantly searching for matches to no avail.

But for Christmas, my husband Ryan and I got our son his very own kitchen set with special doors just for him and playsets to match.  So now I can take back my kitchen and tackle the mess!  And my pantry is full of stuff that I know we no longer eat or needs to be better organized.  And so, this is my task for January.  I miss having an easy access kitchen and an organized one.

And that’s all that’s on my list of projects for January.  What about you?

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

