Organize It! Gift Storage

Hello readers!  Okay, you probably are already feeling like your house is cluttered and bursting at the seams right now.  Between the wrapped gifts and the tree, the wrapping supplies and the rest of your normal stuff, you are probably feeling a little overwhelmed with everything.  So today I want to talk to you about gift storage and ways you can create a little more room.

First of all, I always recommend keeping your wrapping supplies close together.  I store everything in a box in my son Sean’s closet right now, but there is room in our closet for it if I need to move it.  I keep it there because our closet is currently being used to store gifts and wrapped presents since Sean has recently developed a fetish for unwrapping things.  So, for the time being we store our gifts in the master closet.  Now, we are able to do so because I recently started on a capsule wardrobe which I will discuss in a few weeks after the new year.  Because I got rid of about 80% of my wardrobe (pre-pregnancy, pregnancy that will not fit anymore, and post pregnancy that doesn’t fit or is worn out), we have a ton of room.  And I still have the declutter bug just itching to toss more out from our closet and storage.  But that’s a topic for another day.

Now, if you don’t have room like this, I do know of one place that you can store some of your gifts for the time being.  I recommend using your storage place where you typically keep your holiday decorations and the tree.  I know some of you are cringing at the thought of keeping nice presents in a (most likely) dusty place like an outside storage closet or a garage.  But, such items can be wrapped and stored in plastic garbage or grocery sacks and then placed in your ornament storage containers until they are needed.  Most of you are probably like me and keep your ornaments in a plastic Rubbermaid tub with a sealing lid. And while some of you might have ornament separators like the ones I have, yours may collapse to create more room in your storage.  Thus, this is the perfect place to store your gifts until later.

What I love about storing gifts in my storage is that, to begin with, it’s a great temporarily unused space that I won’t miss if it’s full while the tree is up.  Second, for people with kids, it’s unlikely that your kids will look there for gifts because it isn’t a typical spot to look.  Just like you, they will think of it as “out of sight, out of mind” because it most likely isn’t a frequently used space.  So it’s ideal for hiding those extra special gifts from a certain someone.  Finally, this is a great place to hide gifts because, should you be like my mother and forget where you hid things, you will be forced to remember when you start putting away the holiday decorations shortly after Christmas.  While it may be too late to give some people gifts that may have been in from out of town, it won’t be too terrible if you are a couple of days late for others due to the hiding spot.

Now, as for gift supplies, I always recommend buying your wrapping paper after the holidays.  Most often, you can find wrapping paper, ribbons, bows, bags, and even holiday cards on sale for next to nothing.  I have gotten several rolls of paper, boxes of matching cards, ribbons, gift tags, bows, and a collection of bags for less than $5 in one go.  In fact, it isn’t uncommon to find holiday card boxes for a quarter apiece.  To add to that, you can even find non holiday paper on sale at this time of the year.  Almost all of the paper I buy is non holiday paper, and I can often get it for ten cents per roll.  Finally, I am such a cheapskate that I save all gift bags and even the tissue paper.  It actually helped me to do so this year as I was attempting to wrap gifts and gift baskets but I realized I was out of tissue paper.  Luckily, I discovered a plethora of paper in the bottom of my gift bags saved over the years.  To give you an idea of my gift bag collection, I still have every bag I received in my baby shower in August of 2015.

As you can imagine, I have quite the collection of gift bags.  To handle all of them, I often break them down and keep them in one of the larger bags.  I currently have a very old holiday bag that’s missing its handles and is torn that I currently use to store my gift bags.  I picked that bag because it fits perfectly in the box I used to store all of my wrapping supplies.  It’s only purpose is that.  Should I ever change my mind, I would do away with that bag immediately.

As for my other supplies, I keep them in a pencil box with everything.  I find that this helps me keep my tape and scissors together with ease, and I don’t have any issues with hunting them down throughout the house.  As for my ribbons and bows, I tend to keep them all in a bow bag together, or I will store them in a plastic bag (along with tissue paper) in my gift box.  However, I sometimes find that the ribbons unravel and tangle up.  I highly recommend taping the end down after each use to avoid this.  Oh, and the gift boxes (for clothes, etc) are broken down and stored with everything as well.

And that’s how I keep everything neat and organized through the holidays, as well as keep gifts wrapped and hidden away.  How do you do it?

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

