“Me” Time: Knit Projects

Hello Readers!  As the days get shorter and the weather turns colder, I often find myself itching to get into my indoor projects that don’t create too much mess but that can occupy my time.  Even though I will always love curling up with a great cup of coffee or tea and a book, I don’t always love the calories of the inevitable grazing or munching that I’ll want to do.  So, I often turn to another activity that keeps my hands busy: knit projects.

Okay.  Confession time: I am not the world’s greatest knitter.  In fact, I still struggle with the purl knit.  Mostly this is due to the fact that I’m left-handed.  So, I often try to knit simple things like scarves and blankets with different yarns to create something unique.  However, knitting is always a great way to keep my hands occupied.  I often will knit during the colder months while watching Netflix or a movie.  I can honestly say that I have spent many a winter evening watching the A&E version of Pride and Prejudice (which is five hours long) and knitting the entire time.

But I love it.  It keeps my hands occupied.  It’s a “clean” and mess free project.  And it’s fairly cheap to get into, unless you are like me and buy several skeins of yarn for future projects that you never do.  But, nonetheless, knitting can be relaxing because it’s repetitive and you can literally do it without really paying attention.  And, if it looks bad, it’s easy to snip it off and start again.

The one drawback to knitting is that it can take a lot of yarn for a little part.  And it can take a long time to get a significant portion done.  Luckily, there are other knit projects you can do that are relatively cheap, mess free, and clean.

Let’s start with crocheting.  Now, I do want to start by saying that I have never been able to get into crocheting.  The first time I tried, I followed the directions in a beginner’s book and failed miserably.  I couldn’t get started on the next row!  I have, since then, tried again three times before I gave up.  Now, I must say that my issue stems from the way I have learned in the past.  Even when I learned how to knit, I learned from a live instructor: my mom.  What helped with this is that I could see how to do every stitch in 3-D rather than looking at a drawing, reading instructions, or seeing it on a screen.  I even tried YouTube with no luck!

But, I do think crocheting is much easier than knitting.  It takes a lot less time, can take less yarn for projects, and the final product is beautiful!  You can even crochet shawls, wraps, and capes to customize your capes, shawls, and wraps for your capsule wardrobe!

So, what do you do if you’re like me and you need a live instructor?  Well, there are options.  You may be like me and have a few friends that are crafty with knitting, crocheting, needlework, sewing, etc.  Maybe you excel at cross-stitch and your best friend rocks at crochet.  Why not form a group of crafty instructors and learners among your friends?  Each friend can teach others how to do their craft and, in turn, everyone can learn a new craft or two.  Not only can you learn how to craft something new or learn a new skill, you can teach others and you can form some great bonds between your friends.  As an added bonus, you may have something fun to look forward to each week or month by doing something like this.  You’ll be able to socialize with other crafty women, you’ll be able to work on a fun project, and you can have your “me” time while having fun.

If you don’t know anyone who can knit or crochet, you can always check out the local community colleges, for they sometimes offer non credit classes on things like interior design, fashion trends, knitting, crocheting, sewing, etc. for the community.  The community center in your area may also have options similar to this, or you might be able to find a private instructor through a community board.  If nothing else, you can ask the employees at a craft store if they may know where you can find instructors.

Still, the best option would be to set up a crafting group.  You can rotate between each other’s homes, meet at a community location, or meet in a coffee shop.  Either way, it’s a great way to connect with other women in your circle.

So, I hope you will ask your friends about starting your own little crafting corner and coordinate sessions to help everyone learn a new skill and bond as a community itself!

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

