“Me” Time: Music

Hello Readers!  You know, every day I try to find a way to enjoy some “Me” time, and it can be difficult to do so in my home.  My husband has been working very crazy hours lately with his company, our son has been going through growing pains and has had some more teeth, including molars, cutting through not to mention he has recently gone from crawling to running, which means he’s been getting into more and I have been on my feet a lot more lately.  We’ve been preparing for the holidays and setting our plans with friends and family.  And I’ve been playing the mom role alone for quite some time.  It’s been hectic!

But even through all of this, I have found unique ways to get my “me” time in, even when I have a kid underfoot in the middle of a long day of a long week of work for my husband.  One of the best methods for getting some “me” time is simple: music.

I realized how important music can be for me a couple of weeks ago.  Our son Sean has been cutting teeth and has been going through some growing pains, which makes for a very cranky baby at times.  It was in the middle of an eight day week for my husband at work, in which he was working approximately twelve hour days each day.  I had barely gotten any sleep the night before due to stress and a bad case of insomnia, and I was already exhausted when I woke up.  And I had a house in desperate need of attention, a to do list a mile long, and laundry coming out of my ears.  It was just one of those weeks where my cleaning schedule and lift flew out the window in the name of chaos.

As I put Sean down for his mid morning nap and dealt with the tears of a tired and cranky baby, I realized that it had been weeks since we had played his sleepytime station on Pandora.  When he was an infant, we always played this instrumental music station on our phones via Pandora in order to put him to sleep.  And that station soothed me as well, which is why I loved it so much.  Since we started our sleep training months ago, we hadn’t listened to the station.  We no longer needed it.

But in that moment, I realized I needed it.  I turned on our smart television and instantly started Pandora to listen to his station: “Fur Elise Radio”.  And the first song was “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” done by the Piano Guys.  And I felt calmer and more at ease.  And that’s when it hit me: I can still find my “me” time with music.

Music has always been important in my life.  Whenever I wrote, I would always listen to instrumental music; in fact, my favorite group is E.S.Posthumus, a duo of modern-day composers that mix classical instruments with industrial ones for a modern day symphony.  I find their music energizing and especially useful when I’m writing for creative purposes.  For relaxation, of course, I enjoy more mellow sounds like those found on “Fur Elise Radio” through Pandora.  This station often features famous compositions done by modern artists like “Canon in D”, “Moonlight Sonata”, and “Claire de Lune”.  But it also features instrumental renditions of songs by Greenday, Nirvana, and Guns ‘n Roses.  Still, it’s great for calming down or for relaxation.

As for exercising, I prefer to listen something more upbeat.  Pop music is always a great option for working out because the tempo is faster than others.  Many people may not like her, but I like Taylor Swift’s music, as well as Katy Perry and other pop artists for my workouts.  House music can also be useful for workouts because it has a steady tempo that is still faster than rock or classical.

While cleaning my house, I do like to turn on our rock and alternative stations or turning on my iTunes.  I absolutely love the Beatles for these times, especially with kids around, because some of their more upbeat tunes like “Come Together” and “Penny Lane” are great dance tunes for kids and families, and they are great to keep everyone moving while cleaning.  I also love 90’s alternative bands like Matchbox Twenty, Pearl Jam, and Hootie & the Blowfish for cleaning, not to mention artists like Rob  Thomas and Daniel Bedingfield.  I often will sing along with them while I clean, and it makes cleaning a lot more fun.  As a bonus, it makes our son Sean laugh to listen to me sing.

I also enjoy country music for cooking and cleaning, mostly because I grew up in a farming and ranching household, so country music was always on the radio.  Due to my roots, artists like Garth Brooks, Trisha Yearwood, George Strait, and Reba McEntire are the first cds I’ll pull out to play when I’m in a country mood, although I do like more modern artists like Rascal Flatts, Dierks Bentley, and Lady Antebellum.  But this genre always takes me back to being with my family and cooking with my grandmother and my mom, not to mention baking and working with my late father.

And, still, there are the oldies that I like to listen to while driving, especially on long trips.  I’ve always been a fan on Simon & Garfunkel, and I enjoy passing the miles listening to songs like “Homeward Bound”, “Cecilia”, and “America”.  And I think it’s key for kids to hear some of the old tunes, everything from the Beatles to Elvis Presley, from the Rolling Stones to Chuck Berry, from James Brown to Simon & Garfunkel.  And, as I’m sure most of you can tell, oldies will always carry memories of family and fun pasttimes.

The key here about music is that it will always take us back to relive our memories of when we were younger and carefree, or to our wedding day, or to another happy memory.  And it can be great to entertain kids as you can let them dance to the music while you clean or while they help you clean.  Or you can use it to help them build memories while you teach them to cook.  But most of all, music can be used to give you something upbeat to listen to when the day is just too stressful to get in any real “me” time.  Just listening to something relaxing can do wonders to brighten your day.

So, tell me Readers, how does music help you out in your days?  I would love to hear from you!

Until next time,

-BBM

P.S.> I wanted to spend just a quick moment covering some news for my blog.  I have already scheduled out my posts for the coming year of 2017, and I will be making changes to my schedule starting on Monday, January 2, 2017.  The changes are as follows:

Mondays: Parenting (This will stay the same and will focus on topics pertaining to parenting such as family-related activity ideas, parenting issues, and the like).
Tuesdays: Money Matters (This will stay the same and will focus on expenses, finances, and budgeting)
Wednesdays: Self Health (This will be a merging of “Self Awareness” which currently is posted on Wednesdays and “Health & Wellness” which is currently posted on Thursdays; this will focus on self awareness, mental health, physical health, and the like)Thursdays: Household  (This is currently the topic for Fridays and will move to Thursdays; this will still focus on topics pertaining to household decor and management)
Fridays: In this House… (This is a new area that will focus on my own home’s weekly events and happenings.  Each Friday, I will reflect and review over our week, detailing what has happened within my own home and family).

I am hoping that this new schedule will be just as effective as the currently system has been.  I just felt that I was somewhat disconnected from the material and I thought adding in a weekly post about my own family and home will bring me closer to the readers.  And I have felt that my Self Awareness and Health & Wellness topics were getting redundant.  I think combining them and expanding to include all self health topics and issues will bridge that gap.  And I have found a more cohesive schedule and plan for my future topics that I will reveal at a later date.  For now, please continue to read and enjoy my posts and let me know what you think of this change.

-BBM

Leave a Reply

