DIY: Cleaning and Household Needs

Hello Readers!  If you are like me, you are always looking for a way to save a little money, even if it’s only a couple of bucks every now and again.  As a SAHM, I have to be careful with my budget, and being careful sometimes means finding creative solutions to everyday situations.  And one way to do that is with my household cleaners.

I will admit that I don’t always make my own cleaners, but I do try to use basic ingredients to clean rather than purchasing more expensive cleaners.  The only difference I have really found is the amount of elbow grease I have to apply to my cleaning.  But what I really love about it is that the DIY cleaners tend to be more kid-friendly than the harsh chemicals found in most cleaners.  So, let’s get started with a few of my favorite DIY cleaners and household needs.

Vinegar.  Yes, vinegar.  That stuff you dress your salad with is a great cleaning agent, too, though I recommend distilled white vinegar for cleaning over the red wine or balsamic variations.  I use vinegar to clean my windows with a solution of one part vinegar to two parts water.  Along with using coffee filters to wipe them off, vinegar is a safe and natural cleaning ingredient that is used in a lot of cleaners.  I also use it on my kitchen floors to clean them because it is safe and effective at keeping my kitchen floors clean.  It is also good for washing walls and baseboards each season during my season cleaning as it helps neutralize odors while cleaning the walls really well.  And I use it to clean my washing machine every year to keep my machine clean and odor free.

Baking Soda.  Baking soda is a favorite cleaning ingredient for me.  I scrub my tub with it all the time.  Just sprinkle baking soda into the basin and scrub using a warm damp cloth or sponge.  It takes a little elbow grease, but baking soda is completely effective at safely removing soap scum from the tub.  And it’s completely odorless, so you don’t have to fear this product around kids or pets.  I also love using it to clean my garbage disposal, along with ice and lemons.  It helps neutralize the odors in the garbage disposal and sharpen the blades with the ice.  And, when used with hot water and vinegar, baking soda is perfect for cleaning out a slow drain.  About once every three months, I’ll use it to clean out my bathroom drains.  It’s so effective, so safe, and so cheap compared to the commercial chemicals that do the same thing for twice the price!

Castile Soap.  This is a new ingredient for me that I’m still learning about.  Castile soap is a vegetable-based soap made from vegetable oils (primarily olive oil), lye, and water.  It’s a safe and natural agent that can be used for a variety of cleaning products around the home.  And because it contains very few ingredients, it’s considered a great green cleaning product.  Some can be purchased with scents already added to them, or you can get it unscented and add your own scent to it.  But, when mixed with other cleaning agents, Castile soap is supposed to be a fantastic and safe cleaning product.  Just be sure to research what other cleaning agents can be used with this one.  It is Chemistry, after all, and you wouldn’t want to cause any severe damage by mixing the wrong ingredients.

Borax.  Again, I’m not entirely familiar with this ingredient, but this is a detergent that dissolves in water and is used for products like laundry soap and dishwasher soap.  It’s a basic ingredient that can easily clean a variety of areas, and it’s another simple ingredient to have on hand.  I would highly recommend looking into using this product in your own home.

Lemons.  Those slices that you put in your drinking water are also great for cleaning and deodorizing around the home.  Lemons contain essential oils and odor neutralizing qualities that make them extremely effective for cleaning agents.  With some baking soda and ice, you can easily and effectively clean your garbage disposal.  With salt and water, you can scrub out a pan.  The possibilities are almost endless!

As with all of these and any chemicals, I highly recommend finding a trusted source for recipes for your own cleaners.  My personal go-to blogger is Clean Mama, who has an entire section of her website for cleaning recipes.  She really is an expert on DIY cleaners.  So, check her out, along with these products, today!

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

