Reading Challenges: Fall Favorites

Hello Readers!  It’s always tough to get kids reading sometimes, especially after a long summer full of swimming and vacations.  But Fall can be a great time to get kids reading again.  The weather is cooling down, school is back in full swing, and the days are getting shorter so there are less daylight hours for outside play.  To get them back on a reading schedule, try introducing some Fall favorites to your kids today.

 

bunnicula

The Bunnicula Collection, by Deborah and James Howe.  I know this sounds like a crazy series for kids, but I loved this series when I was little!  It features a loveable dog, Harold, and a precocious cat, Chester, who work together to solve crimes involving the mysterious rabbit named Bunnicula.  If you’re wondering, this is an appropriate series for ages 9-12, and the only things harmed in this series are a few vegetables.  But, I loved Chester the cat in this series, and with the dog the series featured a lot of comedy rather than horror.  If your kids like animals or love anything with a talking one, they will fall in love with this series!

 

Judy Blume books, by Judy Blume.  Who doesn’t remember reading Superfjudy-blumeudge or Are You There God?  It’s Me, Margaret?  I loved Judy Blume’s books, and they are favorites among kids because of the way kids can relate to the characters.  My favorite Judy Blume novel has always been Freckle Juice, probably because I always had freckles and I always wanted to get rid of them.  Judy Blume’s books are great for kids to read, and they’ve been around forever.  I highly recommend her novels for ages 9-12.

Tharry-potterhe Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling.  This will always be a Fall favorite for me.  I loved reading this series as it evolved, and I still think it’s a great series for kids and teens.  This is truly a coming of age series, and the characters are favorites for kids.  And it sparks the imagination for kids who feel that they don’t belong or don’t fully fit in among their peers.  I know we all wish we could have received our letters at eleven!  This is a fantastic series to start for kids around age eleven because they can grow with the series.

The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis.  I still love reading this series, and it’s a fascinating one to read with kids.  While this series features talking animals, narniait’s a story full of good v. evil and right v. wrong.  And it’s a way to introduce theological and spiritual studies to kids that they can relate to because of the many children in the series.  I highly recommend starting with the very first  novel, though, as it truly explains Narnia and its creation which can help prevent the never-ending questions about how Narnia came to be.  The first novel is The Magician’s Nephew, and it is an easy read but it really helps explain everything that happens before The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  What I truly love about this series is that it is something you can read with your little ones, starting at ages five or six.  But be prepared for questions. Still, it’s a great series to introduce at a younger age.

roald-dahlRoald Dahl books, by Roald Dahl.  I loved reading Roald Dahl’s books, as do most kids.  The characters are fun, and the books are easy to get into.  Plus, they tend to be a little wacky and yet still easy to imagine.  And they are classics. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, and James and the Giant Peach are wonderful books for any kid, and there are some great movie adaptations of the books to share with your kids after they finish reading each one.  Even The BFG has a movie adaptation, and I think I remember watching one for The Witches when I was a kid, but I don’t know if I would necessarily allow a kid to watch it since the movie I remember was quite nightmarish.  Still, I love these favorite novels, and I would highly recommend them for your kids.

These are just a few Fall favorites of mine from my childhood that I would highly recommend for your kids.  After all, the classics are always great picks since we most likely have already read them and can easily hand them over to our kids.  It will make your life a lot easier if you don’t have to worry about whether or not the books they read are appropriate for them.  And you can read them together and watch their delight with each book, reliving your own memories of the characters each time.  So, what other books do you recommend for your kids?  I would love to hear from you!

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

