Spotlight on: 21 Day Fix Extreme

Hello Readers!  Now, I know we are always looking for ways to lose a pound or two, or we are always searching for a new regime to follow.  Some of you may remember my post a few weeks ago about the 21 Day Fix program.  Today, I’m really excited to share my next spotlight feature with you: the 21 Day Fix Extreme.

I love the 21 Day Fix Extreme!  Even though I struggle sometimes to stay on track with it, this is a really challenging and fun workout regime for me, and I love the meal planning and containers!  I won’t go into a lot of detail about the general jist of the program because it’s built off of the original 21 Day Fix program.  However, this is the next level of the 21 Day Fix series, so it kicks it into high gear and offers something called the “Countdown to Competition”, which I will cover a little later on.

First, let’s talk about the main differences between the two programs.  The Original 21 Day Fix program allows for 3 “treats” per week.  In exchange for one serving of carbs (or one yellow container), you can have one treat or one glass of wine.  This swap can be done three times in a week, and there are tons of great recipes for these treats online and on Pinterest.  My favorite: this Cookie Dough Greek Yogurt recipe.  It is so yummy, and it is surprisingly great as a dip for pears or apples!

However, this isn’t possible with the 21 Day Fix Extreme regime.  With the 21 Day Fix Extreme series, you can swap 2 carbs (or 2 yellow containers) for specific beverages per week.  This list is minimal, and it allows for nonfat milk, soy, almond, or coconut milk, coconut water, or P90X Recovery and Results Formula.  That’s it. The amounts allowed depend on whether they are sweetened or not, but 8 fl. oz is the typical limit.

Also, the 21 Day Fix Extreme program does not allow for whole grain bagels, whole grain crackers, whole grain English muffins, or other somewhat processed items that can be allowed with the original program.  Make no mistake: the 21 Day Fix Extreme program is rigid and does not allow for any wiggle room.  But, it’s designed to be a sort-of follow up to the original program.  It doesn’t mean that you have to do the original program first, however; it just means that the 21 Day Fix Extreme program may be more difficult to follow if you haven’t started with the original one first.

I know this because I started with the 21 Day Fix Extreme program, and I suffered as a result.  When I did the exercises-which are for more advanced persons-I had to modify the modifier.  It was rough, and I was in pain every day.  But it does work, and I haven’t tried the original plan because I found that I enjoyed the extreme version so much.  Now that I have completed the 21 Day Fix Extreme program a couple of times, I have figured out a few tricks and tips that definitely help in completing the program.  By the way, I am currently in the middle of another round of the program.  So, here are my tips:

  1. Simplify.  I can’t stress this enough with this program!  It is so much easier if you simplify your meal plans and prepare for large batches of the same food.  When I first started this program, I made the mistake of not following the constant advice I had heard about this program and I overcomplicated it.  Every week I had two or three different breakfasts planned, a variety of snacks every day and every week, a different lunch planned every day, and a different dinner every night.  It was way too complicated!  It took me weeks to prepare my program regime.  Now, it’s simple: the same thing for breakfast every day, the same two snacks every day, the same post-workout shake every afternoon, the same ideas for lunch and for dinner every day of every week.  Face it: it’s three weeks.  You can do anything for three weeks if you put your mind to it.  Which brings me to the next point.
  2. Plan on favorites.  I don’t think I could make it through the program if it weren’t for planning on having my favorite foods during the program.  I mean that my meals feature favorite foods, even though they are repeated almost every day.  But, this means that I don’t get as bored with the meals as I would if I ate things I don’t love, and I am more likely to fall off the wagon if the foods are my favorites.  My first round through, I tried a ton of new recipes every day with foods I didn’t love.  For example, I HATE warm spinach and I had spinach and eggs for breakfast every third day of the plan, which meant that I gagged on spinach seven times through.  Well, actually, I started skipping breakfast those times and really messed up my healthy eating habits as a result.  Now, I plan on my favorite foods every day to keep me on track.  This round, I’m having oatmeal with peanut butter and banana every morning.  I love the combination of peanut butter and banana, and I love oatmeal!  So it’s the perfect plan for me.
  3. Don’t stress the hiccups. Okay, I’ll be honest.  I always flub up at least once while on my 21 Day Fix Extreme rounds.  I am a sucker for sweets, and I love bakery items.  It happens.  And Autumn Calabrese, the creator of the 21 Day Fix series, knows this.  But the key to success is to jump back into your plan and keep going as though the fall never happened.  My first time through, I had a really bad day on day 5, and I completely fell off track for an entire weekend.  I thought I was going to have to start over.  And then I read a post from a fellow fan that said to jump back on track instead of starting over.  And so I did.  And I finished.  It’s okay to fall off the wagon, especially the first few times.  We are human, and we do these programs for a reason.  The key is to get better at resisting temptation.  This time around, I have truly avoided a lot of extra sweets and my sweet tooth hasn’t been killing me with temptation.  Okay, so I’ve snuck a graham cracker quarter or two.  But, it has gotten easier to avoid the extras.
  4. Know yourself.  This probably key to any workout: you need to know and listen to your body.  There is a difference between giving up because you’re weak-willed and giving up because you’re body is suffering. My first time through, I kept pushing myself, even though I felt like it was too hard for me.  Now, while it’s still tough, I push through and I find that it’s much easier.

Now, with the 21 Day Fix Extreme program, Autumn Calabrese includes a “Countdown to Competition” variation.  With this, the program utilizes the same workouts.  But, the food selections are even more limited and cut back even further.  There are no swaps allowed with the “C2C” because there are no carbs allowed.  The “C2C” variation isn’t meant to supplement the entire meal plan for all 21 Days, but it is meant to be added to the regime or used in the final three days to boost your chances of success.  It really is your choice.  I haven’t tried the “C2C” variation yet because I know now that I would fail to do it.  So, I will stick with the 21 Day Fix Extreme program for a little while yet.

Now, as a final thought, I want to leave you with my meal plan and workout regime that I’m following on my 21 Day Fix Extreme round this time.  As you can see with this, everything is repeated and everything is very similar.

1,500 to 1,799 calorie intake

  SUN MON TUES WED THURS FRI SAT
BREAKFAST
F C  tsp
Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal  Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal   Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal   Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal   Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal   Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal   Peanut Butter and 1/2 Banana Oatmeal  
AM SNACK
H
Carrots and Hummus Carrots and Hummus Carrots and Hummus  Carrots and Hummus  Carrots and Hummus  Carrots and Hummus  Carrots and Hummus
LUNCH
VV S
Lettuce, Veggies, Tuna, Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Chicken, Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Tuna, Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Eggs (2), Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Tuna, Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Chicken, Dressing Lettuce, Veggies, Tuna, Dressing
PM SNACK
F tsp. (2)
Cottage Cheese, Apple, Peanut Butter (2)  Cottage Cheese, Apple, Peanut Butter (2)  Eggs (2), Apple, Peanut Butter (2) Cottage Cheese, Apple, Peanut Butter (2) Eggs (2), Apple, Peanut Butter (2)  Cottage Cheese, Apple, Peanut Butter (2)  Cottage Cheese, Apple, Peanut Butter (2)
DINNER
V Ptsp.
Chicken, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Salmon, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Chicken, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Shrimp, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Chicken, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Salmon, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa Chicken, Broccoli and Cauliflower, Quinoa
POST WORKOUT
F C
Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk Whey Protein Powder, 1/2 Banana, 8 oz. milk
WORKOUTS PLYO FIX EXTREME UPPER FIX EXTREME PILATES FIX EXTREME LOWER FIX EXTREME CARDIO FIX EXTREME DIRTY 30 EXTREME YOGA FIX EXTREME

 

Now, Readers, I would love to hear of your own experiences with the 21 Day Fix Extreme program. What results did you have and what experiences can you share with us?

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

