Décor and More: Summertime Fun!

Hello Readers!  Now, I know that the beginning of school is just around the corner, and for many of us we moms are more concerned with getting ready for the big day than we are about our household décor.  But, this is the perfect time to think about décor and summertime fun: clearance sales are starting, and we can score some great finds at this time of the season for next year!

I will admit that I have not been the world’s best person at decorating in the past, but it wasn’t because I didn’t want to.  Before I had my son Sean, and before I got married in January of 2015, I worked fifty hours per week.  I was home alone, and money was always too tight to think of décor.  But I longed for the days when I would have the time and money to buy and set up décor around my house.

Today, while I am home all day and I have the time to decorate, it isn’t always feasible with a baby underfoot and a tight budget.  But there are still some things I try to do, and some décor that I have on my wish list for the future and my list of ideas for next year.  So, today, I want to share a few insights with you.

The different themes.  If you google “Summertime décor”, the search results are mind boggling.  It can be difficult to know where to begin.  Whenever I think of décor, I think about my location and my favorite things.  My location matters because I want to ensure that I make the most of what’s available rather than trying to do something outside of my surroundings.  For example, I live in a more mountainous region than most areas, and so I am not likely to attempt a coastal theme because seashells are harder to come by in my area.  However, I may find twigs in colored mason jars or antique bottles from a nearby historical society more fitting for my home.  To me, it’s important to take your region into account because of the cost effectiveness of your nearby surroundings versus department store finds to fit the theme they display.

While keeping your location in mind is important, you also want to keep your favorite things in mind when deciding on your summertime décor.  What sort of activities do you like to do during the summer?  What is your favorite part of the season?  For me, the many patriotic holidays are key to the season, and I have such fond memories of those holidays that help make them important to my life now.  I also love getting outside more for fresh air and a change of scenery.  I like going on picnics in the park with my family.  I like

Rustic summer decor
Rustic chic décor courtesy of  Home BNC

attending various local events and festivals during the summer months.  Even though I live near Lake Tahoe, however, I am not a huge fan of going there every weekend.  This has to do with my claustrophobia in forests more than my dislike of the beach, however.  I am extremely nervous in dense forests and ones with tall trees, and I have had attacks on the way to Tahoe in the past.  But, my family does reign from the coast of Southern California, and I have always been attracted to the ocean and the beach as a result of this.

 

Americana summer decor
Americana décor courtesy of Fruits of Our Spirit

 

So, most often for me, I tend to be attracted to the rustic chic and Americana décor most often highlighted in the summertime.  Flag-inspired décor, rustic-looking jars and containers, and barn-inspired pieces are most often the pieces I wish for in my own home.  I am not afraid to say that I am patriotic, as is my family, and the Americana décor always brings me back to my childhood memories of fireworks and the Star-Spangled Banner.  I love how festive and fun this theme can be, and it never goes out of style.

 

The classics. More recently, I have become inspired by some classic pieces of décor that I hadn’t considered before.  The Americana theme is a classic design, but it doesn’t fit at all times.  However, apothecary jars and rope balls have become a new fascination for me.  These are classic pieces that can be used to fit any décor and any home.  They can also be fairly inexpensive and can even be great DIY projects.  My recent trip to the Dollar Tree revealed a collection of apothecary jars and classic vases that I have plans to pick up in the near future for a relatively low cost.  And I can easily make rope balls out of inexpensive materials found at my local crafts store.

Another classic element design that can be incorporated into any home is the outdoors.  I don’t know about you, but our family often finds themselves outside for picnics and barbeques.  I often find rocks and twigs and leaves that I would love to use in my home décor.  These elements are very often free, and they can provide a very rustic look to your home décor.  Adding rocks to the bottom of a vase with some found twigs and flowers is a great way to bring the outdoors into your home.  A great DIY project for your walls is to frame some perfect leaves with some cheap frames, tissue paper, and time!

A final classic design is to use Mason jars and antique bottles around your home for a rustic feel.  I love Mason jars, and we even used them as décor in our Rustic Winter-themed wedding.  I recently discovered that my local grocery store–where I buy all of my groceries every week–now carries blue-tinted Mason jars, and I have been salivating over the thought of buying these jars to use for décor!  These are wonderful because you can use them as rustic vases for fresh-cut flowers.  You can add your found twigs to a jar and tie a strand of raffia or twine to the mouth of the jar for a rustic and natural look.  You can fill them halfway with water or sand and add a tea light for a simple lighting design in your home.  The possibilities are endless!

So, tell me Readers, what are your favorite themes for summer décor?  What sort of DIY projects have you done or do you want to do to decorate your home for summer?  What tips can you share with me on decorating your home for summer?

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

