Shopping Tip: Back to School!

Hello, Readers! Well, my favorite time of the year is about to start: back to school shopping! I know many parents cringe whenever they think of school shopping, but I loved it when I was in college because of how much I loved learning. Buying school supplies signaled the beginning of new learning opportunities and new books to explore.

Now, as a SAHM with a baby at home, I look forward to this season for other reasons: the sales. During the month of August, school supplies come on sale for low prices—the lowest all year for them, in fact. Every store is attempting to compete against themselves for business at this time, and it’s a great time to stock up on all necessary supplies for your own home as well as for your kids.

I typically buy notebooks, steno pads, pencils, erasers, pens, dry-erase markers, highlighters, markers, files, and computer paper at this time of the year because I can typically save about 25% off the overall cost over the year. It may not seem like much savings, but it can be up to $100 for myself, depending on the supplies.

This is also a good time to look into laptops or other small office equipment, such as printers and hard drives. This is the time when electronic businesses are trying to win over the college kid with a new tablet or laptop, and you can reap the benefits at this time for these devices, too. I have seen laptops down almost 50% at this time of the year, so now is the time to shop around and get the best deal.

So, why do I buy so much? Well, if you think about it you really do go through these supplies all year long. I use the steno pads for grocery shopping, the small notebooks (5 1/2” by 8 1/2”) for my travelling notes, and the large notebooks for journaling or writing projects. I use the computer paper for everything, as well as a large project for 2017. I use the pencils for drafts and the pens for all writing. I use the index cards and card holders for recipes. I use the post its for my workout numbers and important tabs in books. I always use the supplies that I get for my household needs, and they can be expensive. This is the only time of the year that these supplies will go on sale, so I really encourage you to stock up on the sales now.

This is also a great time to stock up on new Summer supplies for next year because we should start seeing the “End of Summer Days” sales starting in the very near future, so you can be sure to rack up the savings on summer clearance items at this time. Patio furniture, pool toys, gardening supplies, and swimwear/flip flops are going to be the main features of these sales, so this is the perfect time to replace old pool toys for half the cost of what they will be at the beginning of next summer.

Because of the drive to return to school, you can also find school supplements also on sale. Bed linens and towels will go on sale as our graduates head off to college dorms and will need to furnish them. Cosmetics will go on sale as everyone preps to show their best faces in the classroom. School lunch staples—granola bars, single-serving bags of chips and snacks, lunch meat and cheese, lunch boxes, baggies, bags, thermoses, and reusable lunch containers will be much cheaper as parents gear up to send their kids off to school.

As for produce, this is a perfect time for some great finds! Here’s what’s in season right now:

Cucumbers, tomatoes, summer squash, corn, green beans, lettuce, eggplant, watermelon, strawberries, cantaloupe, blueberries, peaches, apricots, kiwi, raspberries, and plums

So, Readers, what sales do you look forward to each year?

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

