DIY: Oats

Hello Readers!  Now, we all know that oats are a great source of fiber as well as heart healthy, but prepackaged oat products can be expensive!  And they can be filled with unhealthy fats and high fructose corn syrup.  But, never fear!  There are some easy recipes that can help your wallet as well as your waistline.  So let’s jump into those recipes!

Oatmeal packets.  I love oatmeal on a cold Autumn morning!  Nothing warms me up and gets me ready for a busy day than a great bowl of oatmeal!  But looking at the ingredients of a packet can nearly give you a heart attack as they contain so many preservatives.  MOMables.com has a wonderful recipe for instant oatmeal packets that are super cheap and super easy!  Just add a little pure honey or maple syrup, some cinnamon and fresh fruits and you’ve got yourself a great morning breakfast!

Granola.  I love granola, especially homemade granola.  The flavors of fresh granola is so much better than the overly processed and boxed granola found in our supermarkets.  It can also be cheaper than what you can get in the stores, and you can cater your recipe to suit your taste!  Do you prefer blueberries over raisins?  Then switch them out.  Love pecans over almonds? Substitute!  As an added bonus, here’s an awesome recipe from celebrity chef Alton Brown!

Granola Bars.  Did I mention that I love Alton Brown?  Well, I do, especially his Good Eats episodes that are now featured on Netflix, which means I can learn even more wonderful recipes than the last one!  One of my favorite episodes features fresh and preservative free granola bars by the man himself, and I highly recommend giving this recipe a try!

Overnight Oats.  Like I said before, I love oatmeal!  And I love trying different recipes, especially if they can save me a penny or two AND include fresh fruit.  Another Root has some fantastic overnight oats recipes that will blow away your mind!  My favorite recipe is the Banana Nut Bread version!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Squares.   I have to admit that my favorite food group is peanut butter.  In fact, I can’t get enough of this item!  And any dessert that features peanut butter has to be a favorite for me.  This recipe from Listotic features not only peanut butter but also only requires 3 easy pantry staple ingredients, making it super yummy and super cheap!

So, these recipes are just a few of my favorites that feature oats and are budget friendly.  Tell me, readers, what recipes do you have that utilize oats and save you a few bucks in the process?  I would love to hear from you!

Until next time,

-BBM

Leave a Reply

