The Perks of Being a SAHM

Hello Readers!  As you can guess, I am a Stay-at-home-mom, or a SAHM.  I haven’t always been a SAHM, nor did I ever see myself as one.  It happened quite by accident that I became a SAHM.  I am highly educated, have worked in the business industry, and had high hopes of entering into Education.  But that all changed in January of 2015.

In that month, I got married to my best friend and discovered that I was expecting our first child, who was due right when the new school year would begin.  After many conversations and discussions about the future, my husband and I decided that my being a SAHM temporarily would be acceptable.  And while that decision has sometimes felt like the worst one ever, I have found myself enjoying it more than any other job I’ve ever had.  Let me explain why.

There is no dress code.  I have worked in stuffy offices, in retail industry, in places with a uniform, and more.  I have always adhered to the dress code required of the job, even though it could be excruciatingly uncomfortable.  I once washed cars in 100 degree heat wearing heels and a Calvin Klein suit, so I am well aware of dress codes for work.  While I sometimes miss the routine of getting dressed up, I do not miss the sometimes strict dress codes of past days.

That being said, I will say that sometimes it’s difficult to really get dressed or care about my appearance when my only contact with humanity some days are my son, my husband, and Netflix.  It isn’t like the cast of Gilmore Girls will care if I sit in my pajamas all day.  But I can’t say that it is always a drag to be free to wear whatever I like without reprimand.

There are no office hours.  Surprisingly, I love that I don’t have set hours for my job.  When I did work, I sometimes felt sick to my stomach with the thought of going into the office that day.  It was fleeting, but the closer to decision to leave my previous employer came, the more common it became for me to feel sick of work.  I love that I now don’t have a work schedule to keep.

However, this perk is also not so wonderful at times as a mom’s job is never done.  And it’s very true that I have sometimes gone days without much sleep.  I cringe when I hear “teething stage”, and we are still experiencing it.  There are no sick days.  There are no weekends.  There is no vacation from this job.  It is twenty four hours a day, seven days a week, 365 days a year.  But, I would take cuddling with my son and watching him grow over an office any day.

There are no work performance reviews. When I worked in the past, I would always stress over the work performance reviews.  I stressed over my bosses watching me like a hawk for the slightest misstep, which would cause me to make those mistakes. After my last day of my last position, I felt more free than ever before in my life.  The weight of the world was no longer on my shoulders, and it was the best feeling in the world.  Now, I have no boss to answer to, I have no employer.  I am my own boss.

But I still stress over my job.  In the very beginning, I was sucked into Mommy Wars, and I constantly felt like I was nit-picked by outsiders.  I felt like the worst mom in the world, and I fell asleep crying into my pillow almost every night. I spent every day wishing I could have a do-over.

This was the most difficult period I have experienced in my life.  And yet it taught me to appreciate the perks of being a mom as well as a SAHM.  It took some time, but now I have a pretty good idea of what I am doing.  When I lay my head down on my pillow at night, I now tell myself that at least my son is still breathing, has not ended up in the Emergency Room, has been fed, and is as happy as he can be.  And that’s all that matters at the end of the day.  I remind myself that I am not a perfect mom, but I am doing my best.  And that’s the best perk of my job.

So, tell me Readers, what perks have you discovered about being a mom, regardless of whether you are a SAHM, WAHM, Working Mom, Soon-to-be, or otherwise?

-BBM

Leave a Reply

